gradient header image

ADR Hall of Fame Award

The nomination period for 2024 is currently open. The deadline to submit a nomination is April 26, 2024.

Congratulations to the 2023 Award Recipients

The Litigation Section is proud to announce the recipients of the 2023 ADR Hall of Fame Award and the ADR Service Award. The Award will be presented annually by the Litigation Section of the California Lawyers Association (“CLA”) for distinguished service in the promotion or development of alternative dispute resolution or for significant contributions or impact in the field of alternative dispute resolution. The ADR Committee of the Litigation Section shall make the final determination of the number of awardees each year, each recipient of the Award, and the annual presentation of the Award.

Note: The Awards will be presented on Friday, September 22, 2023 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront in the Cobalt Meeting Room 501B.

2023 ADR Hall of Fame:  Carrie Menkel-Meadow

Carrie Menkel-Meadow,  is Distinguished and Chancellor’s Professor of  Law at the University of California Irvine Law School and A.B. Chettle Professor of Law, Dispute Resolution and Civil Procedure, Emerita at Georgetown University Law Center.  She was the Faculty Director of Georgetown’s Hewlett Program in Conflict Resolution and Legal Problem Solving, and also the Faculty Director of the Centre for Transnational Legal Studies in London. She is one of the founders of the field of “Alternative/Appropriate” Dispute Resolution and has authored or edited over 20 books and over 200 articles in the fields of dispute resolution, legal ethics, legal feminism, socio-legal studies, civil procedure and legal education. Most recently she is the author of Very Short Introduction to Negotiation (Oxford University Press, 2022) and several co-authored texts on dispute resolution, negotiation, mediation and international dispute resolution(some with—Lela Love, Andrea Kupfer Schneider and Jean Sternlight). She has been awarded several honorary doctorate degrees for her pioneering work in dispute resolution and feminism, both in the United States and Europe. She was awarded the first ever Outstanding Scholar in Dispute Resolution by the American Bar Association (2011) and the 2018 Award for Outstanding Scholar by the American Bar Foundation for her work in dispute resolution, and the legal profession. She was awarded Best Article Prize three times (1983, 1991 and 1998) by the Center for Public Resources for her scholarship in negotiation, mediation and dispute resolution. She is also a member of the American Law Institute and the American College of Civil Mediators. She has taught in 25 countries and also frequently serves as a mediator and arbitrator in both public and private settings.  She received her J.D. cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania and her B.A. magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa from Barnard College, Columbia University. She began her career as a poverty-civil rights lawyer and as clinical professor at the University of Pennsylvania Law School and has taught at the law schools of the University of Pennsylvania, UCLA, Stanford, Harvard, and many law schools in Europe, Asia and South America.

The Award will be presented annually for distinguished service in the promotion or development of alternative dispute resolution or for significant contributions or impact in the field of alternative dispute resolution. The nomination period is currently closed.

2023 Distinguished Service Award: Ruth V. Glick

Ruth V. Glick is a full time domestic and international arbitrator and mediator whose background as a lawyer and businesswoman augments her dispute resolution skills.  With over 25 years’ experience as a dispute resolver, she has mediated and arbitrated a wide variety of domestic and international complex business contract and tort, financial, commercial, technology, crypto, venture capital, trade secrets, securities, labor and employment, real estate, health care and medical device disputes.  She is on the Large and Complex Case panel, the National, Commercial and Labor and Employment Arbitration and Mediation panels of the American Arbitration Association (AAA), as well as the International Centre for Dispute Resolution (ICDR), and the International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR).

Ruth is a Fellow and member of peer nominated organizations including, the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (FIArb), College of Commercial Arbitrators (CCA), International Academy of Mediators (IAM), and National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals (NADN).  She is named yearly as a Northern California Super Lawyer and one of Best Lawyers of Northern California.

Throughout her career, Ruth has been in the forefront of the development and advancement of alternative methods of dispute resolution encouraging full participation of all practitioners.  She is a past Chair of the Dispute Resolution Section of the American Bar Association, founder of WIDR (Women in Dispute Resolution), and a former liaison to the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession.  She has also served as President of the Mediation Society of San Francisco, President of California Dispute Resolution Council, and on the Boards of the CCA and IAM.

Ruth is currently on the Board of Directors of California Arbitration (CalArb) and a member of the Council of the American Arbitration Association-International Centre for Dispute Resolution (AAA-ICDR) where she is co-chair of the Mediation committee and member of the Arbitration and Law and Practice standing committees.  See

Ruth V. Glick

Please click the drop down menus below to view the different criteria.


The nomination period closes on April 26, 2024.


Nominees may be members of The State Bar of California, in good standing with active or inactive status, or non-attorneys.

Nominees need not be attorneys and may reside outside California, although their contributions to alternative dispute resolution should have a significant impact in California. Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations shall be kept confidential by the Annual Award Committee, the ADR Committee and the Litigation Section. Campaigning for the selection of the awardee is discouraged and will not be considered.

Nomination Materials

To submit a nomination, provide the following necessary materials:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A summary of your nominee’s lifetime achievements that you believe make your nominee worthy of being inducted into the ADR Hall of Fame Award, including, but not limited, to the following criteria:
    • Contributions to the development of the law and/or alternative dispute resolution and/or for significant contributions or impact in the field of alternative dispute resolution.
  • A biography of your nominee

See More Under ADR Hall of Fame Award

ADR Hall of Fame Award Nomination Form
ADR Hall of Fame Recipients
Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $99 and includes one section. Additional sections are $99 each.