Filter all site content by section

Family Law


For a list of past recipients, click here.

FLEXCOM has four questions for you to consider:

  • Do you have a colleague worthy of statewide recognition for their family law practice?
  • Is there a member of your local family law bench that stands out for their contributions to family law?
  • Does your local court have a staff member behind the scenes that deserves to be recognized for making the system move?
  • Do you know a young attorney making strides in the legal community?

If you answered yes to any one of those questions, we seek your nomination for the 2019 Family Law Section Awards.

Nomination Deadline: March 1, 2019
Nomination Form: Click Here

The Executive Committee for the Family Law Section (FLEXCOM) is seeking nominations for outstanding contributions to the practice of family law in the following categories:

Family Law Judicial Officer of the Year

The award is intended to recognize excellence on the Family Law bench. Particular focus is paid to outstanding service to the practice of Family Law, career achievements, or a distinguishing singular act or performance of the nominee.

Family Law Lifetime Achievement Award

Designed to honor and recognize the most distinguished long-term achievements and sustained substantial contributions to the substance or practice of Family Law in the State of California over the recipient’s career or lifetime.

Excellence in Family Law

The award is to honor and recognize recent notable acts or outstanding service that contributes substantially to the improvement of California Family Law substance or practice. Recipient need not be a lawyer.

Court Staff Award

The award is to honor and recognize sustained superior performance or extraordinary efforts in the recipient’s performance of his or her work with the Family Law courts. Nominations shall be solicited from Family Law bench officers. Nominees shall be deserving court personnel, which may include (but not limited to) clerks, judicial assistants, Family Law Facilitators, DV counselors, court reporters, bailiffs, administrative personnel and Family Court Services employees.

Barrister of the Year Award

The award is to recognize outstanding contributions to the practice of Family Law or outstanding performance in the practice of Family Law for barrister lawyers. The recipient of this award must be a lawyer who practices primarily in the area of Family Law and who has been a member of the State Bar of California for five (5) years or less. The recipient need not be a member of the Family Law Section.

Nominations are due by March 1, 2019. FLEXCOM members will vote on the nominations at their April meeting. Please fill out the form and submit your nomination to Stephen A. Montagna, CFLS, FLEXCOM Vice-Chair.

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)