Taxation Section 2014-2015 Leadership Directory

by

Taxation Section 2014-2015 Leadership Directory

Executive Committee

OFFICERS

Steven L. Walker (Chair), Law Office of Steven L. Walker
303 Almaden Boulevard, Ste. 500, San Jose, CA 95110-2712, Tel: (408) 828-9989
swalker@walk-law.com

Bradley Marsh (Immediate Past Chair), Greenberg Traurig, LLP
4 Embarcadero Center, Suite 3000, San Francisco, CA 94111-5983, Tel: (415) 655-1300
marshb@gtlaw.com

Robert S. Horwitz, (Chair Elect), Law Office of A. Lavar Taylor
6 Hutton Centre Drive, Ste. 880, Santa Ana, CA 92707, Tel: (714) 546-0445
rhorwitz@taylorlaw.com

VICE CHAIRS

Valerie C. Dickerson, Deloitte Tax LLP
695 Town Center Drive, Ste. 1200, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, Tel: (714) 436-7657
vdickerson@deloitte.com

Thomas Giordano-Lascari, Karlin & Peebles, LLP
5900 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 500, Los Angeles, CA 90036, Tel: (323) 648-4647
tgiordano@karlinpeebles.com

Justin T. Miller, BNY Mellon
555 Mission Street, 19th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94105, Tel: (415) 951-4130
justin.miller@bnymellon.com

Haleh Naimi, Advocate Solutions, Inc.
9701 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 1000, Beverly Hills, CA 90212, Tel: (310) 601-7157
hnaimi@advocatesolutions.com

Betty J. Williams, Law Office of Williams & Associates, PC
3600 American River Dr., Ste. 135, Sacramento, CA 95864, Tel: (916) 488-8501
betty@williamslawassociates.com

SECOND YEAR MEMBERS

Patrick W. Martin, Procopio Cory Hargreaves, & Savitch LLP
525 B Street, Suite 2200, San Diego, CA 92101, Tel: (619) 515-3230
patrick.martin@procopio.com

Adria Price, Price & Associates, LLC
485 Miramar Drive, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019, Tel: (650) 560-8373
adria@pricelaw.net

Kaelyn J. Romey, Office of Chief Counsel, IRS
100 First Street, 19th Floor, San Francisco, CA 95105, Tel: (415) 547-3777
kaelyn.j.romey@irscounsel.treas.gov

[Page 61]

Roburt J. Waldow, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP
650 Town Center Drive, 4th Floor, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1993, Tel: (714) 424-2856
rwaldow@jonesday.com

Minna C. Yang, Wagner, Kirkman, Blaine, Klomparens & Youmans LLP
10640 Mather Blvd., Suite 200, Mather, CA 95655, Tel: (916) 920-5286
myang@wkblaw.com

FIRST YEAR MEMBERS

Laurelle M. Gutierrez, McDermott Will & Emory LLP
275 Middlefield Road, #100, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Tel: (650) 815-7632
lgutierrez@mwe.com

Shellie L. Hughes, State Board of Equalization
Mic: 72, PO Box 942879, Sacramento, CA 94279, Tel: (916) 324-1369
shellie.hughes@boe.ca.gov

Jenna M. Lewis, Franchise Tax Board, Legal Division
MS A-260, P.O. Box 1720, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741, Tel: (916) 845-7965
jenna.lewis@ftb.ca.gov

Rebecca L. O’Toole, Withers Bergman, LLP
6050 El Tordo, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067, Tel: (858) 400-1302
rebecca.otoole@withersworldwide.com

Troy M. Van Dongen, Winston & Strawn LLP
101 California, San Francisco, CA 94111, Tel: (415) 591-1546
tvandongen@winston.com

Advisors and Liaisons

Jozel Brunett, Chief Counsel, Franchise Tax Board
P.O. Box 2229, Sacramento, CA 95812-2229, Tel: (916) 845-3307
jozel.brunett@ftb.ca.gov

Robert Denham, Publications Attorney, Continuing Education of the Bar – California
2100 Franklin Street, Ste. 500, Oakland, CA 94612, Tel: (510) 302-2178
robert.denham@ceb.ucla.edu

Randy Ferris, Chief Counsel, State Board of Equalization
450 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814, Tel: (916) 445-4380
randy.ferris@boe.ca.gov

Maurice B. Foley, The United States Tax Court
400 Second Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20217, Tel: (202) 521-0681
Oksana Jaffe, Chief Consultant, California State Assembly, Committee on Revenue and Taxation
1020 N Street, Room 162, Sacramento, CA 95814, Tel: (916) 319-2098
oksana.jaffe@asm.ca.gov

Robin L. Klomparens, Wagner Kirkman Blaine Klomparens & Youmans LLP
10640 Mather Boulevard, Mather, CA 95655, Tel: (916) 920-5286
rklomparens@wkblaw.com

[Page 62]

Marcy Jo Mandel, Winston & Strawn LLP
333 S. Grand Avenue, 38th Fl., Los Angeles, CA 90071, Tel: (213) 615-1864
mmandel@winston.com

Charles P. Rettig, Hochman Salkin Rettig, Toscher & Perez, P.C.
9150 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 300, Beverly Hills, CA 90202-3141, Tel: (310) 281-3242
rettig@taxlitigator.com

Carley A. Roberts, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP
500 Capitol Mall, Ste. 1950, Sacramento, CA 95814, Tel: (916) 792-7192
carley.roberts@sutherland.com

Stuart A. Simon, Buchalter Nemer
1000 Wilshire Boulevard, Ste. 1500, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2457, Tel: (213) 891-0700
ssimon@buchalter.com

Standing Committees

COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS

Chair: Alison Smith Fay, Boutwell Fay LLP, Irvine, CA
Tel: (949) 660-0481, alisonfay@boutwellfay.com

Vice Chair: Yana S. Johnson, Morrison Foerster, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 268-7136, yjohnson@mofo.com

Secretary: Brian Holmen, Jones Day, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 243-2328, btholmen@jonesday.com

Education Chair: Wendy Taurianen, Chang Ruthenberg & Long PC, Folsom, CA
Tel: (916) 357-5660, wlt@seethebenefits.com

Immediate Past Chair: Jeremy M. Pelphrey, Fox Rothschild LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 598-4166, jpelphrey@foxrothschild.com

CORPORATE AND PASS-THROUGH ENTITIES

Chair: Stephen J. Turanchik, Paul Hastings LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 683-6000, stephenturanchik@paulhastings.com

First Vice Chair: Gregory A. Zbylut, Zbylut Law Office, Glendale, CA
Tel: (626) 708-1040, gaztaxlaw@gmail.com

Second Vice Chair: Laura L. Buckley, Higgs, Fletcher & Mack, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 236-1551, buckley@higgslaw.com

Third Vice Chair: Rachel L. Devenow, Blank Rome LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (424) 239-3477, rdevenow@blankrome.com

Immediate Past Chair: Haleh Naimi, Advocate Solutions, Inc., Beverly Hills, CA
Tel: (310) 601-7157, hnaimi@advocatesolutionsinc.com

[Page 63]

ESTATE AND GIFT TAX

Chair: Janet Z. Chediak, Weintraub Tobin Chediak Coleman Grodin, A Law Corp., Sacramento, CA
Tel: (916) 558-6063, jchediak@weintraub.com

Treasurer: Jason R. Schingler, Worden Williams, APC, Solana Beach, CA
Tel: (858) 755-6604, js@wordenwilliams.com

Education Chair: Alison Merino, Ramsbacher Prokey LLP, San Jose, CA
Tel: (408) 293-3616, amerino@ramsbacherprokey.com

Publications Chair: Stephanie Hood, Coblentz, Patch, Duffy & Bass LLP, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 391-4800, dvermillion@coblentzlaw.com

Advisor: Donna Herbert, Internal Revenue Service, Thousand Oaks, CA
Tel: (805) 371-6702, donna.f.herbert@irscounsel.treas.gov

Advisor: Kyle Martin, Internal Revenue Service, Oakland, CA
Tel: (510) 637-4549, kyle.martin@irs.gov

At Large: Robin L. Klomparens, Wagner Kirkman Blaine Klomparens & Youmans LLP, Mather, CA
Tel: (916) 920-5286, rklomparens@wkblaw.com

INCOME AND OTHER TAXES

Chair: Jordan Lui, Wagner Kirkman Blaine Klomparens & Youmans LLP, Mather CA
Tel: (916) 920-5286, jlui@wkblaw.com

First Vice Chair (Chair Elect): Jared P. Werner, LevitZacks, CPAs, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 238-1077, jwerner@lz-cpa.com

Second Vice Chair (Secretary): Shane Hofeling, Franchise Tax Board, Rancho Cordova, CA
Tel: (916) 845-4581, shane.hofeling@ftb.ca.gov

Education Chair: Lisa O. Nelson, The Law Offices of Lavar Taylor, Santa Ana, CA
Tel: (714) 546-0445, lnelson@taylorlaw.com

Immediate Past Chair: Alexandra Eaker, Richard Carpenter Tax Law Office, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 236-1224, alexandra@irstaxdisputes.com

INTERNATIONAL TAX

Co-Chair: J.P. Harbour, Law Office of J.P. Harbour, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 728-7205, legalharbour@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Eric D. Swenson, Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 515-3235, eric.swenson@procopio.com

First Vice-Chair: Brandon Boyle, Grant Thornton LLP, Washington, DC
Tel: (202) 521-1533, brandon.boyle@us.gt.com

Second Vice-Chair: Michelle D. Han, KPMG LLP, San Diego, CA
Tel: (858) 750-7152, michellehan@kpmg.com

Third Vice-Chair: Raul Villarreal-Garza, Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 525-3874, raul.villarrealgarza@procopio.com

Immediate Past Chair: Jenna Shih, KPMG LLP, London, UK
Tel: (858) 750-7149, Jennafer.Shih@kpmg.co.uk

[Page 64]

STATE AND LOCAL TAX

Chair: Christopher Campbell, Loeb & Loeb, LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 282-2321, cwcampbell@loeb.com

Vice Chair: Michael T. Lebeau, Cahill Davis & O’Neall, LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 622-0600, mtl@cahilldavis.com

Secretary: Scott Ewing, Deloitte Tax LLP, Sacramento, CA
Tel: (916) 288-3350, eewing@deloitte.com

Education Chair: Jaclyn Appleby, Board of Equalization, Sacramento, CA
Tel: (916) 445-7518, jaclyn.appleby@boe.ca.gov

Immediate Past Chair: Jenna M. Lewis, Franchise Tax Board, Sacramento, CA
Tel: (916) 845-7965, jenna.lewis@ftb.ca.gov

TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS

Chair: Matt Clausen, Adler Colvin, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 421-7555, mclausen@adlercolvin.com

Chair-Elect: Jorge Lopez, Adler & Colvin, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 421-7555, jlopez@adlercolvin.com

Vice Chair: Cecily Jackson-Zapata, Sustainable Law Group, P.C., Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 223-6262, cecily@sustainable-lawyer.com

Immediate Past Chair: Courtney Nash Gardner, Farella Braun & Martel, LLP, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 954-4977, cgardner@fbm.com

TAX POLICY, PRACTICE AND LEGISLATION

Chair: Annette Nellen, San Jose State University, Graduate Tax Program, San Jose, CA
Tel: (408) 924-3508, annette.nellen@sjsu.edu

Immediate Past Chair: Brian J. McBreen, Ernst & Young LLP, San Jose, CA
Tel: (408) 947-5739, brian.mcbreen@ey.com

TAX PROCEDURE AND LITIGATION

Chair: Joseph P. Wilson, Wilson Tax Law Group, Newport Beach, CA
Tel: (949) 397-2292, jwilson@wilsontaxlaw.com

Vice-Chair: Courtney Hopley, Greenberg Traurig, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 655-1314, hopleyc@gtlaw.com

Secretary: Carolyn Lee, Abkin Law LLP, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 956-3280, clee@abkinlaw.com

Journal Editor: Kevan P. McLaughlin, McLaughlin Legal, San Diego, CA
Tel: (858) 678-0061, kevan@mclaughlinlegal.com

Immediate Past Chair: LaVonne Lawson, Lawson Tax, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 231-1040, ll@lawsontax.com

[Page 65]

YOUNG TAX LAWYERS

Chair: Michael P. Varela, Hopkins & Carley, A Law Corporation, Palo Alto, CA
Tel: (650) 804-7600, mvarela@hopkinscarley.com

Chair Elect: Laura Buckley, Higgs, Fletcher & Mack, San Diego, CA
Tel: (619) 236-1551, buckley@higgslaw.com

Vice Chair: Kevan McLaughlin, McLaughlin Legal, San Diego, CA
Tel: (858) 678-0061, kevan@mclaughlinlegal.com

Publications Chair: Carolyn Lee, Abkin Law, LLP, San Francisco, CA
Tel: (415) 956-3280, clee@abkinlaw.com

Education Chair: Christina K. Harper, Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (213) 612-2500, christina.harper@morganlewis.com

Immediate Past Chair: Autumn Ronda, Valensi Rose, PLC, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 277-8011, ar@vrmlaw.com

Los Angeles Chapter: Chair: Autumn Ronda, Valensi Rose, PLC, Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 277-8011, ar@vrmlaw.com; Vice-Chair: Christina Harper, Morgan Lewis, Los Angeles, CA,
Tel: (213) 612-7403, christina.harper@morganlewis.com

Sacramento Area Chapter: Co-Chair: Irina Rospotnyuk, Wagner Kirkman Blaine Klomparens & Youmans LLP,
Mather, CA, Tel: (916) 920-5286, irina@wkblaw.com; Co-Chair: Libby Rodoni, Franchise Tax Board, Sacramento, CA,
Tel: (916) 845.7839, elizabeth.rodoni@ftb.ca.gov

San Diego Chapter: Co-Chair: Eric A. Baggett, Henderson Caverly Pum & Charney LLP, San Diego, CA,
Tel: (858) 755-3000, ebaggett@hcesq.com; Co-Chair: Anne E. Wenger, McLaughlin Legal, San Diego, CA,
Tel: (858) 678-0061, anne@mclaughlinlegal.com; Secretary: Paula Oliveira Brunoro, RJS Law, San Diego, CA,
Tel: (619) 595-1655, pbrunoro@rjlawfirm.com

San Francisco Bay Area Chapter: Co-Chair: Alyssa C. Snyder, Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass, San Francisco, CA,
Tel: (415) 772-5737, asnyder@coblentzlaw.com; Co-Chair: Chris Kotarba, DLA Piper, Palo Alto, CA,
Tel: (650) 833-2156, chriskotarba@dlapiper.com

Silicon Valley Chapter: Co-Chair: Michael P. Varela, Hopkins & Carley, A Law Corporation, Palo Alto, CA,
Tel: (650) 804-7600, mvarela@hopkinscarley.com; Co-Chair: Andrea Starrett, Rambbacher Prockey Leonard, San Jose, CA, Tel: (408) 293-3616, astarrett@rpllawfirm.com

State Bar Staff

Lynn Taylor, Section Coordinator, State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105,
Tel: (415) 538-2580, lynn.taylor@calbar.ca.gov

Ellen Louie, Administrative Assistant, State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105,
Tel: (415) 538-2549, ellen.louie@calbar.ca.gov

[Page 66]