Cal. Litig. 2021, Volume 34, Number 3


By Jessica Barclay-Strobel

Jessica Barclay-Strobel

As we look to the coming year, the Litigation Section anticipates resuming in-person gatherings for some of our signature programs in Spring of 2022 while continuing to offer a wide range of online options. Like so many of you, we pivoted to entirely online programming last year. Despite those constraints, we significantly expanded the amount and types of programs we offer, including through the Racial Justice Committee launched in 2020 ( While we have adapted to an online world, it was nonetheless a wonderful treat to recently hold our first in-person event in over a year: the 2021 award ceremony inducting Arturo Gonzalez and Dennis A. Schoville into the Trial Lawyer Hall of Fame ( and Wendy Cole Lascher into the Appellate Lawyer Hall of Fame (

Our programming expansion this past year was made possible by the excellent leadership of so many Litigation Section members—including our amazing outgoing chair Terrance Evans and our wonderful outgoing Executive Committee members Karli Eisenberg and Michelle Galloway, who made our virtual Litigation and Appellate Summits such a success. We thank our outgoing members, who now pass the torch to new Executive Committee members Nadim Hegazi and Nathaniel Dunn, as well as Jeff Daar (our Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee chair) and Seth Kugler (our former California Young Lawyers Association liaison). I look forward to working with our members in my new role as Litigation Section chair, along with my fellow officers Mary McKelvey (vice-chair), Erik Silber (treasurer,) and Adrieannette Ciccone (secretary).

Join CLA to access this page

Join Now

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $99 and includes one section. Additional sections are $99 each.