Privacy Law

Privacy Law Section Year-End Review

Please share:

By Jeewon Serrato

We are excited to announce the six (6) new Executive Committee members who will be  joining the current Executive Committee to serve the CLA Privacy Law Section, 2021-2022.  The full list of the current members and new members is listed below.  The 2021-2022 term will begin after the CLA Annual Meeting.  I had the privilege of serving as Chair this past year and I know the Executive Committee, under Sheri Porath Rockwell’s leadership as Chair will continue to build on our inaugural year.

As we come to close our first year as a new section, I wanted to take a moment to recognize some of our milestones and accomplishments.


Since launching as the newest section November 2020, we have now grown to an organization with over 1,000 members. 


In the last 10 months, we have produced 15 CLE seminars and events dedicated to providing education for privacy laws. 


Members of the Privacy Law Section will be publishing the California Consumer Privacy Act Handbook this fall, which provides practical guidance on how to comply with the CCPA as well as the California Privacy Rights Act.   In addition to the Handbook, which is an update to the California Privacy Law Treatise, which we will update annually, we published monthly newsletters that you have all been receiving in your inboxes, which include timely write-ups on the latest privacy law developments. 

Networking and Advocacy

The section’s events and publications programming were enhanced by networking, community building and advocacy programs as well, including our participation in Legislative Day in April where members of the section met with staff from the California Governor’s Office and the Assembly, as well as the Office of the California Attorney General.  This fall, we will be actively participating in rulemaking proceedings for the California Privacy Rights Act, which goes into effect on January 1, 2023 and the section has been actively interfacing with the new California Privacy Protection Agency. 

Young Lawyers Programming

For attorneys and law students who are looking to become privacy practitioners, we have launched the “Intro to Privacy” series and a mentoring program for law students. 

Privacy Law Specialization

For practitioners who specialize in privacy, we submitted an application for the California Board of Legal Specialization to explore the creation of a Legal Specialty for Privacy in California.  This was a CLA-wide effort, which included practitioners from the Business Law Section, the IP Law Section and the Los Angeles County Bar Association.  The Board just voted last week to move forward with our application and we will let you know how to get involved in the committee that will be establishing the standards for certification.

These accomplishments and more could not have been possible without the tireless dedication of the inaugural Executive Committee.  We thank Jake Snow, who will be stepping down from serving on the Executive Committee and welcome him as an Advisor next year.  We welcome the new Executive Committee members who, together with committee members, will be expanding and enhancing the section’s service offerings in the coming year, including the Annual California Privacy Law Conference, which will take place in January 2021.   

Representing the privacy law community in California for the past year has been an honor.  I look forward to continuing to work with all of you to make California Lawyers Association the best community for privacy lawyers and practitioners.

If you are interested in joining our committees or have questions about any of the workstreams we highlighted above, please send us a note at

With a grateful heart, I’m signing off.  Onward!

Jeewon Kim Serrato

Executive Committee

  • Jeewon Kim Serrato, Chair
  • Sheri Rockwell, Chair-Elect
  • Mark Aldrich, Vice Chair
  • Brett Cook, Vice Chair
  • Cody Venzke, Treasurer
  • Jennifer Oliver, Secretary
  • Aaron Lawson
  • Alisa Hall
  • Christian Hammerl
  • Elaine Harwell
  • Hailun Ying
  • Irene Jan
  • Jake Snow (Outgoing)
  • Joshua de Larios-Heiman
  • Mary Stone Ross
  • Smita Rajmohan

New Executive Committee Members

  • Andrew Serwin
  • Donald Yoo
  • Joy Peacock
  • Nicholas Ginger
  • Paul Lanois
  • Robert Tookoian

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $99 and includes one section. Additional sections are $99 each.