Past Recipients of the Bernard E. Witkin Medal

<< Back to Awards

The Witkin medal is named for the preeminent legal scholar and writer Bernard E. Witkin, who was its first recipient in 1993. It is awarded annually to a member of the legal community who has helped shape the legal landscape through an extraordinary body of work.

2022 Susan Westerberg Prager

2020 Justice Ming Chin

2019 James Brosnahan

2018 Kathryn Werdegar

2017 Herma Hill Kay

2016 Constance Rice

2015 Associate Justice Anthony M. Kennedy

2014 Erwin Chemerinsky

2013 Justice Carlos Moreno (Ret.)

2012 Jesse H. Choper

2011 Presiding Justice Joan Dempsey Klein

2010 Beth Jay

2009 Justice Cruz Reynoso (Ret.)

2008 John Van de Kamp

2007 Judge Alex Kozinski

2006 Justice Elwood Lui (Ret.)

2005 Chief Justice Ron George

2004 Judge Thelton Eugene Henderson

2003 Robert D. Raven

2002 Seth and Shirley Hufstedler (joint recipients)

2001 Justice Norman L. Epstein

2000 Judge Dorothy Wright Nelson

1999 Joseph A. Ball, Esq.

1998 Justice Stanley Mosk

1997 Justice Bernard S. Jefferson

1996 William A. Rutter, Esq.

1995 Professor Gerald Gunther

1994 Justice Raymond L. Sullivan

1993 Bernard E. Witkin

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $99 and includes one section. Additional sections are $99 each.