Workers' Compensation

Message from the Chair

Please share:

As promised, my eNews April Message from the Chair is devoted to highlighting the Awards and Recognition Subcommittee of the Executive Committee of the Workers’ Compensation Section of the California Lawyers Association (CLA).  One of our nine subcommittees.

Erin Wintersteen is the Chair of this subcommittee.  I was delighted Erin said yes when I asked her to Chair this subcommittee.  I knew she would be perfect.  Below please find Erin’s summary of what this subcommittee is all about.

“My name is Erin Wintersteen and I am the Chair of the Awards and Recognition Subcommittee. This is my second year on the Executive Committee. I was truly honored to be handpicked to follow the prior subcommittee chair, Joan Succa; I have some pretty big shoes to fill!

This subcommittee is pleased to honor the outstanding legal professionals who have exceeded expectations in the practice of workers’ compensation. To accomplish this goal, we- the Executive Committee of the Workers’ Compensation Section – facilitate the 2019 Steve Jimenez Memorial Special Recognition Awards in three steps.

First, during the first part of this year, we reached out to all of you to solicit nominations for award recipients for five separate award categories. These include: Lifetime Achievement; Judge of the Year; Applicant Attorney of the Year; Defense Attorney of the Year; and Young Attorney of the Year. You may have seen our call for votes in the last issue of the Workers’ Compensation Quarterly, on our Facebook page, and/or on our Linkedin page. If not, please go like the social media pages so you can stay in the loop while on the go!
Second, on April 5 the Executive Committee will vote on who the lucky recipients of the awards are. Factors we look at for attorneys include: knowledge of the law, professional courtesy, community service, professionalism, recent contributions to the practice of workers’ compensation, service to clients, and advocacy skills. For Judges we look at: temperament, courtesy, timeliness of decisions, judicial integrity, clarity of decisions, community service, professionalism, contribution to the practice of workers’ compensation, and availability to the parties.

Third and finally, we will honor the winners at a lovely reception on Friday, October 11 in Monterey. We encourage the award winner’s family, friends, and colleagues, as well as all from the workers’ compensation community to join us to celebrate. We look forward to seeing you in October!”

Thank you, Erin for this perfect overview. I know it will help our around 3,200 members better understand what this subcommittee does.

Of all the experiences I have had while serving on the Executive Committee presenting Michael Gerson of Boxer & Gerson with the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016 and Carol Powell of Mullen & Filippi with the Defense Attorney of the Year in 2017 where among two of my most cherished memories.   I can still remember listening to Mike and Carol’s acceptance speeches in beautiful San Diego as their family and friends looked on ever so proudly.  Both speeches were very touching.  Congratulations again, Mike and Carol.  Thank you for allowing me to be part of your special nights.        

If you have any questions about the Awards & Recognition Subcommittee or anything at all having to do with the Executive Committee of the Workers’ Compensation Section please do not hesitate to email me at Until next month when the Publications Subcommittee will be highlighted. 

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $99 and includes one section. Additional sections are $99 each.