Workers’ Compensation

Ca. Workers' Comp. Quarterly 2020, Vol. 33, No. 2

Managing the PTSD Presumption

Kia Myers Holsey, Esq.

Oakland, California

Governor Newsom signed into law SB 542, which took effect on January 1, 2020. It creates a strong presumption of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) injury for every police officer, deputy sheriff, and firefighter in California. The law adds section 3212.15 to the Labor Code. This article addresses the essential features of that law and provides various material considerations for the practitioner when confronted with an allegation of presumed PTSD.

Who Is Covered by Labor Code Section 3212.15?

Join CLA to access this page

Join

Log in

Forgot Password

Enter the email associated with you account. You will then receive a link in your inbox to reset your password.

Personal Information

Select Section(s)

CLA Membership is $95 and includes one section. Additional sections are $95 each.

Payment